Huichelaar's Assembly Adventures

Here I’ll be uploading some ASM I wrote. Everything here is only for FE8U. I’m pretty new to thumb assembly and have not shared ASM before, so expect issues when trying to use this stuff. I’d really appreciate it if you could tell me of any issues you run into!

Also, massive thanks to the people who helped me understand asm over at the spell-academy channel in FEU’s discord. You’ve been a great help! Teq’s guide has also been incredibly helpful:

Multipalette Colour BGs

Multipalette Colour BGs v4

Link.
This patch will allow you to use BGs that display in 256-colour mode.
details in the README.md.

mGBA_2023-04-11_16-22-59

Base Chapters

Base Chapters v1

Link.
details in the README.md.

https://i.imgur.com/z8ZfXr0.gif

HueShift

HueShift v0

Download
Github

How to install
Install by using Event Assembler to apply “Disco.event” to an FE8U ROM, or include “Disco.event” in your buildfile.

What’s this?
This replaces the “Link Arena” option in the “Extras” submenu, accessible after going through the title screen. The new “???” option works like a toggle. Once you select it, all palettes will gradually have their hue shifted. Once a full hue shift loop has been made, the process repeats. You can disable the effect the same way you initiated it, by simply selecting “???” in the “Extras” submenu again.

Warning
Hueshifting all 512 colours (yes even the transparent ones, sorry) every frame seems to put quite a burden on the GBA (and a few emulators, curse their accuracy). Performance very notably goes down. I would not recommend using this hack for anything in its current state. It’s more of a proof-of-concept.

Concluding
I made this hack for the FEU community asm telephone hacc: Feature (Not a Bug)
Loads of fun stuff in there, check it out. Oddly many things relating to manipulating colours in there; Great minds think alike! I even needed to hook in someone else’s hook because we both needed the same area.