Assembly: Adaptive BGM and Danger Area

Here I’ll be uploading some ASM I wrote. I’m pretty new to thumb assembly and have not shared ASM before, so expect issues when trying to use this stuff. I’d really appreciate it if you could tell me of any issues you run into!

I implemented both of these hacks on an FE8 rom that’s already had the skillsystem (2020-02-23) (credits below) implemented, so things may not work on a clean rom. I also used FEBuilder’s Event Assembler to implement the code. I definitely don’t expect the code to work in FE7 or FE6. In short: I’d advise assembling the code in a skillsystem FE8U rom.

UPDATE: Alright, I removed the hard-coding in both Adaptive BGM and Danger Area, things should work better now.

Also, massive thanks to the people who helped me understand asm over at the spell-academy channel in FEU’s discord. You’ve been a great help! Teq’s guide has also been incredibly helpful:

Adaptive BGM

Dropbox containing the patch.

I’ve actually decided to rework this patch a little, and I’ll upload a better version soon. I may be able to circumvent the Popuprework, and make the code work for vanilla FE8U as well as skillsystem FE8U. UPDATE: It’s been reworked, and no longer relies on the Popuprework.

What it do?
Basically, Adaptive BGM mutes/unmutes certain tracks/channels of a midi during battle and unmutes/mutes those tracks outside of battle. In the example I provided in dropbox, I’m using a modifed version of Desire Below (arranged by Libera over at ninsheetmusic, modifed by me). Outside of battle, only tracks 1, 2 and 3 are playing (0, 1, 2 depending on your mood). When battle starts, tracks 4 and up are unmuted. When battle ends tracks 4 and up are muted again.

Prerequisites
To take full advantage of Adaptive BGM, you should assemble the Change Battle BGM By Chapter (credit: 7743) patch.

You should probably also assemble the 16 Tracks/12 Sounds Fix (credit: Agro/Brendor) patch. It’s part of the Essential Fixes of the skillsystem.