Getting Started with ModularStatScreen - A Pretty Verbose Introductory Guide

So I’ve spent the last two months or so learning ASM and ModularStatScreen, with a LOT of help from the wonderful folks in the #hacking-help and #spell-academy discord channels. I thought writing up a guide to compile these notes might help other folks who’d like to do cool things with their stat screen but don’t feel brave enough to tackle MSS on their own.

Quick disclaimer, I’m far from an expert on this. I know a lot more than I did a few months ago, but please feel free to chime in with extra information or corrections and I’ll add to or modify the main post to accommodate them.

There’s WAY more to cover here than in my last few write ups, so let’s get cracking!

Installation

ModularStatScreen is included with the standard SkillSystem hack, and you can find MSS on GitHub here, or learn more about installing SkillSystem itself here, or learn more about using other elements of SkillSystem here. This guide will be assuming you’re building off of the SkillSystem setup, but if you aren’t using SkillSystem you can just skim past the bits that aren’t relevant to you. In all cases, the main install file you need to include is ModularStatScreen.event

Note that if you’re installing MSS without using some or all of SkillSystem, you’re going to need to custom tailor some of the files to avoid errors about things like undefined identifiers. There’s a thread talking about doing some of this stuff here, but what you need for your specific build will vary somewhat, so take it with a grain of salt.

What are all these files, there are a hecktonne

Good initial observation. I’ll be going into the code inside some of these files and discussing ways to alter it in more depth later, but I think a short overview covering the different things in here will help a lot with getting a basic understanding of what’s going on, hopefully make the hack in its entirety more approachable.

ASM Folder