Pawkkie Pokes at ASM

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f0e234082c8> #<Tag:0x00007f0e23408200> #<Tag:0x00007f0e23408138>

I’m really new to the ASM scene here, but I’ve got two different things working now and I told myself that as soon as I had more than one I’d make one of these ASM collection threads in case anything is useful to anyone else. Let me know if you run into problems with anything here, I’ll see what I can do.

Can’t thank the folks in #hacking-help and #spell-academy enough for their generous tolerance of all my questions and willingness to help me learn rather than just telling me stuff, you’re all fabulous and the community is lucky to have you.

Working on getting more comfortable with GitHub, so that’s where all my files will be hosted. Here’s a generic link to what I’ll use as my ASM page, but specific links to each hack are found in their sections.

Stat Screen Range to Attack Speed - MSS version

Done

This is the first hack I wanted to make after going through Teq’s tutorial, thinking it would be a relatively simple place to start and get my bearings; turns out I was wrong, the range display was complicated as heck at least to a new person, but we got there in the end.

If you’re not using ModularStatScreen, check out @knabepicer’s version here; it accomplishes the exact same thing, but as you might expect his version doesn’t work with MSS. Mine does work with MSS, but doesn’t work without it. Go with the version that suits your needs. :slight_smile:

Download
StatScreenRng2AS Github

Installation
Download the two linked files from GitHub. Include StatScreenRng2AS.event into your buildfile, and include as_instead_of_rng.s into your mss_defs.s just beneath all the .equ lines.

How To Use

Basic Use

Once you’ve finished installation, all you need to do is add the line as_instead_of_rng into the MSS page you’re drawing the stats box to. Assuming you’re using the standard page 2, your file will look like:

.thumb
@draws the items screen
.include "mss_defs.s"