FE8's Traversable World Map: A Guide by PentV

Many aspects of making a fully traversable and working world map in FE8 aren’t explained that well in FEBuilder, and there aren’t many guides on it, either. This will be a document detailing how to edit the World Map; the basics of it, and some of the complicated stuff. I also plan on updating this guide every now and then as I figure more things out, as I am not an expert.
Also, while this is not super advanced info, this guide is not for total beginners either. You should have basic FEBuilder experience and knowledge (specifically in the eventing department) before tackling the world map.
With that in mind…

NODES

Show Nodes Section

Locations on the world map that can be visited and travelled to are called “Nodes”. Any and all info regarding these can be modified under “World Map Nodes” in the Advanced Menu. Let’s take a look at the editor:

You can select the node you want to edit on the left side. The right side is where you can edit the attributes of that specific node, and you have plenty of options:
Placement Flag essentialy indicates what type of chapter this is. Progression Event means this is a standard chapter that you play while going through the game, and Tower/Ruins access means this is something like the Tower of Valni or the Lagdou Ruins from vanilla FE8. The Tower of Valni/Lagdou Ruins Nodes can be repurposed into a normal chapter, but the Progression Event (and also the Map Skirmish) values need to stay the same. Castle Frelia is a special case: Castle Frelia isn’t a chapter that you play, but it is used twice in the story, once after beating the prologue, where Moulder and Vanessa join you, and once after chapter 8, for the route split. Please read the Castle Frelia section under “Other useful info”.
Pre-clear Icon and Post-clear Icon should be self explanatory, one is the icon of the node before you beat the chapter, and post clear is the one the node tranforms into after beating the chapter.