[FE8] Fire Emblem: Souls of the Forest

Hello FEU! After much time in the shade, I’m here to announce my project.

Fire Emblem: Souls of the Forest is a gameplay focused hack made with FEBuilder that I’ve been developing since around late 2017, and now I feel like it’s a good time to make a public release.

I’ve done changes on this project which I feel modify the vanilla FE gameplay to give the game it’s own unique, yet not cluttered, experience.

The hack features:

• Three difficulties and many custom gameplay options, such as 100% Criticals, Fixed growths, Reverse mode, and many more. Lunatic Reverse is the intended mode for those seeking a tough game, but Normal and Hard are also avaliable, and the modifiers are completely optional.

• Thracia style trading.

• 24 chapters and 4 sidequests.

• 60 playable characters, all with custom portraits.

• The standard quality of life hacks, such as warnings for effective/killer weapons, HP bars, growth rate display, etc.

• Classes mostly only have access to one weapon type, but weapon triangle power is greatly increased.

• Bows have 2-3 range as standard.

• Mounted units have a bit less move in general, but possess Canto+.

• Custom art mostly made by myself, or obtained from the Ultimate Graphics Repository.

• Almost entirely custom music.

• Strong emphasis on weapon types and class individuality.

• Master Seals as the sole promotion item.

• No ambush spawns.

• Generic replacement units that join if you lose enough units.

There’s supports, they increase based on deployment, similar to games like Path of Radiance and New Mystery, but there’s no writing done on them yet.

Specific gameplay changes can be read in the diary that the game has.

The patch can be downloaded here:

The hack’s discord:

Screenshots:

phoebee

87 Likes

An archer lord is awesome

10 Likes

Seems like a neat concept. Congratulations on making a public release! I will surely try it out!

3 Likes