Playable Character Limit

Hey everyone,

Im new to FEbuilder and I would like to know if it’s possible to add more than the existing playable characters. I have many i would like to add but i am worried that if i replace
ENEMY 1F (example) with a playable character i created, i feel like it would mess something up in the game. Am i wrong?

It’s a silly question and im trying my best to learn the ropes.

Thanks for helping me out!

1 Like

Generally you might want to keep player units below the ID 0x45. After this point supports, skills and battles, wins & losses data do not get saved iirc.

3 Likes

Adding to what Zarg said, you can also IIRC only have up to 50 unique playable characters in the roster at once, period. If you start at ID 1 in the character editor and go without skipping any spots, you can only fill out to ID 32 if you want ALL of those characters to be recruitable. You can go beyond it if you have route split recruitments, though. Like one path nets you these four characters, but the other gives you four different ones.

Now it’s been a while since I had this explained so I might not be remembering the reasoning quite perfectly, but basically it’s a hard limitation. Once you add more than that to the roster, it starts to unload the units at the “bottom” of your save, effectively preventing you from accessing them again.

3 Likes

There’s actually room in memory for a total of 63 player units, but various menus break when you surpass 50. Luckily, you can hide units from the party (like vanilla does with Ephraim/Kyle/Forde after Chapter 5x until they come back in Chapter 8) and they won’t count towards the 50 limit, since they aren’t available in any menus

4 Likes

I experimented with this recently and it seems everyone past 51 got deleted after suspending and resuming, even with a bunch of them being hidden.

2 Likes