How to bar a unit from a chapter?

I’m trying to make an FE7 romhack where a previously recruited unit becomes unavailable for a while. (In the same way as Matthew in Chapter 8 of Lyn’s story.) I’ve searched for tutorials, but I can’t find any. Could anyone point me to a tutorial, or otherwise tell me how to do it?

Since it may be important to specify, I’m working with FEBuilderGBA.

EDIT: I found a really simple solution. I placed the unit I wanted to be unavailable on the map where he couldn’t be seen, changed him from an ally to an enemy unit, and erased him from the map. I doubt this is the best solution, but it works for what I want it to do.

Well at the start of the map, you can just REMU them and when you want them to come back just REVEAL them.

…What’s REMU exactly? (I’m brand new to this, so I don’t know much.)

it’s an event command, much like REVEAL. what it does is it removes the unit from the party, but stores the unit data.

I’m not seeing that command anywhere. I’ve done a little digging, and from what I’ve found, it doesn’t work in FE7, which is the rom I’m working with. Is there a workaround I could use (outside having two of the character in the rom and killing one)? Or do I have to rebuild what I have in FE8?

Well if you’re in FE7 you can just use whatever happens with Matthew in chapter 8

I tried a quick look and couldn’t find anything removing Matthew, but l haven’t played the prologue in years. l don’t remember when exactly he leaves. That being said, FE7 has DISA and REPA to disappear and reappear a unit. Might work the same way as FE8? Worth trying. l wanted to figure this out, too, but l’ve yet to get around to it.

I would, but I can’t identify what it is that actually kicks him out of the chapter.

They may get a unit off the map, but I want them un-selectable from on the prep screen. And that’s not something DISA/REPA seem to do.