Ganzap's Simple GBAFE Splicing Tutorial/Guide

Hi everyone! I’m Ganzap! If you don’t know who I am, I am a novice ROM hacker who has joined the community about a year ago, though I have been lurking FEU without an account for awhile now. During my time at FEU I have noticed the lack of GBAFE Mug tutorials/guide here on the forums. There are some out there on many different sites (some are very good like toa’s) but not a popular one here on the forums. I do not consider myself a godly spriter or anything but I do believe that a tutorial here might help aspiring spriters learn a thing or two. And it’s usually fun to help people anyway so let’s get on with the tutorial!

##What is a splice?

The kind of sprite I will be referring to for the rest of this tutorial is a splice. But what exactly is a splice?
Well to put it simply, a splice is a GBAFE mug (by mug I mean the portraits that you see in game when a character is talking in cutscenes during FE6/7/8) made by taking 2 or more vanilla mugs, and combining them in some way.

Here is an example splice taken from Toamar’s Splicing tutorial

If you look closely this is a splice of Perceval from FE6 and Marcus from FE7.
This is an example of a rather simple splice. I will be going over splices similar to this level of skill in this tutorial. It may not be something big but splices like these can help an artist along the road.

Step 0: What You Need

Now before we begin there are a few tools you will need before making your lovely splices. I am assuming that you have at least Windows 7 or higher as an OS.

• Microsoft Paint or any other Photo Editing Software that can edit images in a similar way This is pretty self explanatory. You can also use programs like Paint.NET or Gimp.

• Usenti This is another program similar to MS Paint but is a bit more geared towards editing GBA Graphics and has useful things like a color count, which we will be using in the tutorial.