Could Someone Give me Guidance on Fire Emblem ROM Hacking?

Hello there,

I am new to Fire Emblem ROM hacking, and I am eager to learn more about it. I have played around with a few tools and tutorials, but I am still feeling a bit lost. I was hoping to get some guidance from the experienced members of this community.

I want to understand the fundamentals of ROM hacking. What are the essential tools I should be familiar with? Are there any beginner-friendly tutorials or resources you would recommend?

I am particularly interested in map design. How can I create interesting and challenging maps for my ROM hack? Are there any tips or tricks you could share to help me improve my map design skills?

I want to learn more about scripting and storytelling in Fire Emblem ROM hacking. How can I write engaging dialogue and create compelling narratives for my hack? Are there any resources or tutorials available to help me with this?

Also, I would like to know how to troubleshoot common issues that may arise during the ROM hacking process. What are some common problems I might encounter, and how can I solve them?

Any advice or guidance you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I am eager to improve my skills and create something great, but I could really use some help getting started.

Thank you in advance for your help and assistance.

1 Like

That’s a lot of questions. I’ll stick to the objective ones.

The two main ways of romhacking are FEBuilder and Buildfiles. FEBuilder has an UI, Buildfiles are text-based. A blunt way I differentiate them further is “most things are simpler in FEBuilder, but the most complex things are more convenient in Buildfiles”. If you want a full comparison, including non-romhacking engines, you can check this topic:

There is a FAQ for FEBuilder that often gets recommended: UltraxBlade's #febuilder-help FAQ
A video showing how to make a chapter: https://youtu.be/1_4kngL9V2c