Trying to create a specific AI

I’m brand new to working with AI, so while I know what I want to do, I have no idea how to do it.
(I’m working with FE7, if that matters.)

What I want is to make an AI that has the units move as close to a specific tile as possible, and then attack whatever’s nearby.
Edit: I’ve realized I haven’t been clear that what I want is for both of these things to happen on the same turn.

I’ve managed to make it so they move as close as possible, but then don’t ever attack. I’ve also made it so they move as close as possible, but only if there’s no attackable units in range to distract them.

How can I make the AI do what I want it to do? I could really use some help.

For AI documentation, check this thread:

Have them move to a specific area without attacking anything along the way
Eg. Ai1 do nothing ai2 target coord

Then have a range event in that area that changes the ai1 of the enemies to attack

Would this work for you? Easiest way, I think

IIRC you can’t change the AI of an active unit, and an area event triggers while the unit is active.
You can change the AI of the units inside the area, but you can’t change the AI of the unit that activated the event.

you can set a flag to trigger an event to change their ai as a turn event

There is probably a more elegant way to do this but i haven’t messed around with it in a long time

I would probably try making it a post-action routine to change AI with a little asm as a better way if I needed this :thinking:
I’ll try asking Shuusuke

or actually I guess you could just write an asm routine to go in the ai script that conditionally changes ai lol
but that’s asm, which not everyone wants to do

These AIs do what you say you want to do. If the unit is not at the specified range, they will move towards a specific coordinate, and if they are their AI changes to move towards enemies.