Standing Map Sprite Loading issue

I’m running into an issue with loading standing map sprites. I don’t know enough about the subject to properly attempt to address it, and from what I can see in questions, this hasn’t been brought up before.

As you can see, certain map sprites aren’t loading properly. The ephraim map sprite in the first image should be a dragon vein. In another image, the icon is hovering over the top of a general with the bottom half being a dread fighter sprite. The bottom image should be obvious as to what is wrong.

I think the issue is that there are too many “large” map sprites being loaded as lowering the amount of large map sprites helps with the issue, but I was wondering if other people may have found this before or have an idea of what exactly is going on.

If anyone has other ideas as to how to fix this, please let me know. I’m not exactly sure where to start to address this issue.

1 Like

I’m no expert on the matter, but to me this looks to be an OAM issue. Map sprites have two different limits: the amount (as in how many at once) and how many different ones there can be. To my limited knowledge there is no other way to fix the problem but to reduce the amount of map sprites and/or the variety of map sprites present.

You might want to wait for another answer before you start fixing this issue.

1 Like

I’ve encountered this issue before, it is indeed an OAM issue, if it’s what I think it is. Too many tiles being used, and overflow is starting.

As Zarg said, there’s no silver bullet, only workarounds. What’s worked for me is:

1. Lowering the number of unique map sprites that appear on the map. For example, if there are 2 fighter and 2 mercenary enemies (and no player units of either). I could change the fighters to also be mercs, reducing the number of unique sprites loaded at once.