Questions Regarding FE GBA Technical Limitations (Solved)

Hi! I’m new to Fire Emblem Romhacking and got started with FE_Builder_GBA a few weeks ago. My Current project is fairly simple, (Some stat changes, messing around with classes, and learning to write event script.) but I have a few questions regarding where FE 6,7 and 8 have their limits. (My next project isn’t ambitious, but it might push the limits of the software.)

Specifically:

1.) What are the max dimensions for a map in any one of these games?

2.) Looking around, it would appear that the max number of enemies allowed on a single map at a time would be 50, Max number of allies 20, and max number of player units 62. Are these numbers correct and what would be the side effects of using any one of these maxes? (Would the game crash/ lagg like heck?)

3.) How many events can I have in a single chapter? (Either a hard number, or before the game starts suffering noticeable duress.) (Depending on how well this experiment of mine goes, we may be talking 150 events in a single chapter.)

4.) Is there a max on the turn counter? if I were to, hypothetically, have a chapter go for 100 turns, would that be an issue? (for the software, not the player lol.)

And… (I wasn’t going to asked this, but might as well…)
5.) Can I take tiles from one tileset and put them in another? (Like say I were to combine the Field and Village tile sets for my map. Is that doable?)

I know these question may seem a little ridiculous and you may be thinking, “Who the heck would need to make a 100 turn chapter with a kajillion events???” But I’m really just trying to scope out the landscape, so I don’t get started on something and then find out halfway that what I’m trying to do is impossible, or needs to be rethought. (Don’t worry, I have a plan B.)

Thanks!

I’ve never done this before, but this is apparently how you do it.

1 Like