Question about Genealogy style stats

Ok, so this question came to me based on a recent Romhack and I wanted to send out feelers to see if anyone has the know-how or if such a thing is too advanced.

Using either FEBuilder, Lex Talionis, or Tactile, is it possible to have Genealogy-style parent/child stats? What I mean by this is can I make a game using either of the 3 tools and have it split between 2 generations where units you get in the 2nd generation have stats based on their parents. I figure if a SNES game can do it then the GBA must be able to but digging around I couldn’t quite figure it out. Grant it I’m a super noob so I could be missing something super simple.

I could see it being done if you combined these two patches.

You would have to build different versions of the child units in the character editor and then have the one that corresponds to the player’s pairings spawn based on the support check.

1 Like

Oh! Thats awesome! Thank you for sharing that.

It is doable in tactile as well since it was mentioned
There’s already a stat check inheritance (it exists, I have not personally used it) and obviously you can tailor units around parents

To add on to @Permafrost’s method, one downside is that your second gen units would have very limited support options (If you care about that). Every unit can only have up to 7 partners, so attempting to support two child units with all possible parent combinations could be troublesome.

Unless there’s some kind of support patch in FEBuilder that expands this limitation, but I couldn’t find anything myself.

That’s true. I didn’t think of that. If you go the FEBuilder route, you would probably have to limit supports to siblings, units with set parents, and any non-child units who are part of the second generation.