Nura's sprites

Hey folks :slight_smile:

I’m Nuramon and I’m here today to present you my gba style version of general Zelgius from FE10. :smiley:
And because I seek for critique and feedback xD

It’s the first portrait I’ve done so far and I’ve been working on it for quite some time now.
Zelgius is one of my most favourite characters in the series.
He basicly brought me here, since I’m modding him into FE7 xD

Anyway, back to topic.
Here is it:

Credit goes to NICKTofficial for the hair and parts of the face.
The armor was done from scratch by myself.

So far I’m relatively satisfied with the result but any advise you can give me to improve the portrait is welcome. :wink:

Kind regards
Nura

PS: Since you’ll probably find some gramatical errors, sorry for that. My english isn’t the best.

4 Likes

I’m not very good with mugs, but I think it looks pretty good, the armour’s neat. The main issue I have with it is that his head is just too big for the body. Compare it to some of the actual FE portraits:

If the tops of their heads align, his chin is in line with their shoulders. His mouth is in line with their chins. Not only does that mean he sticks out from the other FE mugs, but it makes his body look small in comparison. You can tell both Dorcas and Hawkeye are big, beefy guys, but the size of Zelgius’ head makes his body look kind of scrawny. So I recommend shrinking the head, and then moving him up in the box so you can show more of the armour.

Something like this!

Edit: Looking at it again, I’ve made his neck look really long. Maybe try lowering the head and pulling the shoulders up?

(Probably not this much though.)

4 Likes

Your right xD I didn´t notice this till now. Thanks for pointing that out.

This is what I’ve come up with so far.

I shrinked the entire portrait since I originally cut down the length of his shoulders to let him fit in the box xD

The head still is 2-3 pixels bigger than Dorcas’s but thats fine I guess.