In FE7, how do I make chapter 19xx and 32x accessible in Eliwood Mode?

I’m new to romhacking/FEBuilder and currently working on an FE7 hack for a friend of mine. I’d like to make the story-relevant gaidens (19xx and 32x) available in Eliwood Mode. Additionally, for 19xx, I’d like to remove the requirement of Nils getting to level 7 in Lyn mode. For 32x, I’d like to increase the max turn count for unlocking it to 30 (from 20). The idea is to allow the player to easily experience the full story without playing Lyn/Hector Mode.

The issue is, I haven’t used the Event Editor before and don’t even know where to start. I’ve found some conditionals in the End Events of the relevant chapters (18xE/19xH and 30E/32H) but I’m not sure how to properly edit them. I imagine I’d also have to add conditionals to the end of the gaiden chapters so the player is sent back to Eliwood Mode as per usual, right? I would greatly appreciate any help or resources explaining this!

Hi Blavery,

I don’t event in FEBuilder so this may be wrong, beware. But for both of these, deleting the “Is this Hector mode” conditionals should suffice. These conditionals only move you to different chapters based on the mode, so you won’t need to add any to get “back” to Eliwood mode.

For starters in 18xE/19xH ending event, try deleting what’s boxed in red below. It should negate mode dependency and send you to “Accept side quest?” scroll automatically (i.e. regardless of mode). Try that and see if it works. I am GUESSING the ASM 0x807D241 is the Nils level check but could be wrong (reads “branch to Dragon’s gate if ASM returns 0” - perhaps if Nils not leveled up???)

For 32x, much of the same. Here it looks like a turn condition under the mode condition. Deleting the condition boxed in red and changing the below value 1 from 0x15 to 0x1F should do the trick. That’s 21 & 31 in decimal respectively (condition will essentially read “if its turn 31 or after, skip gaiden chapter”)