[FE8]Fire Emblem: The Gods of Men (WIP: 7/~24 Chapters playable)

They say that, long ago, dragons roamed the Earth. They ruled with an iron fist, and all living things cowered before them. But mankind, dissatisfied with their lot, rose against their oppressors. With the blessings of the gods, they smote the dragons, and established an Empire of Mankind’s Liberation. This empire has stood for a thousand years.

Yet all things must end.

Download Here
Dropbox

The Gods of Men is a Fire Emblem Romhack made using FEBuilder. I’ve been working on it on-and-off since Spring 2020, although I only started making much progress beyond general planning and obsessive re-drafting of the first few chapters at the end of 2023. My goal with it isn’t to make anything groundbreaking, but I have implemented some changes from vanilla I think are interesting. This is my first project, so there’ll be plenty that can be improved or changed. Any feedback is welcome.

The current release should be playable through Chapter 8 intermission chapter. Ignore the text saying otherwise.

Story Concept

The Gods of Men takes place within the Helstaenian Empire, supposedly founded upon the liberators of old’s defeat of their draconic overlords. Despite revolts, dynastic disputes, wars of conquest, and natural disasters, the Helstaenians have maintained the title of the Empire of Mankind’s Liberation for over a thousand years. In the modern day, major innovations in magic and technology coincide with a period of increased unrest. In this context, Shay Amsrhel, the heir to one of the emperor’s most influential vassals, travels with Arnulph, Prince to the Empire, on a tour of the Southern province, hoping to improve imperial relations following a major famine. Meanwhile, Jacob, a former soldier, leads a small band of rebels in the mountains of the central Empire. The actions of these two people will have a profound effect on the history of the Empire and its people.

Content Warnings