Creating Character Bases and Growths

Hi, I’m new to rom hacking and I was hoping to ask if there are any tips to designing a player/boss bases and growths.
I understand that there isn’t a one size fit all thing, but anything would be appreciated.

1 Like

I would use an existing official game that you think is balanced and use that as a baseline and work from there

2 Likes

Much of it will be based on how strong you want your characters to be compared to the enemies when the player characters are recruited, and how you want that to scale per character as the game progresses. It’s something you’ll be tweaking as you progress.

1. Go here: https://serenesforest.net/
  2. Open each one in a separate tab
  3. Open more tabs
  4. Use notepad, Microsoft Excel, or any other software to cross-reference your data.
    NotepadUntitled

Good luck!

2 Likes

Alright, I appreciate all of y’alls help!

1 Like

Do you have everything you need? Let us know. Otherwise, send me a personal message and I can try to help you more.

1 Like

FE6 tends to have growth rate totals in the range of 250-280, FE8 tends to have between 290-320, and FE7 is somewhere in between. In all 3 games, pre-promotes tend to have growth rate totals around 40-80% lower than their unpromoted counterparts.

I personally prefer FE6’s growth rate range as it prevents units from spiralling out of control and generally allows for a more tailored design (lower growths meaning less variability to design around). Of course this will all be down to personal preference. If you want to create more of a sandbox experience, then the higher variability of FE8 style growth rates may be better suited.