Considering making a GBA ROM hack and looking for advice/to have a few questions answered

Hi! I’m a new user here who will be graduating from high school soon. I’ll likely have about 3 months over the summer without a huge amount to do and I’m looking to start an FE8 ROM hack. I have no experience with this sort of thing besides watching Markyjoe’s video on FEbuilder, a few videos on Fire Emblem game/map design and some ideas about characters and a story. Any sort of tips or advice would be greatly apprieciated!

I have a few specific questions about designing a ROM hack that I haven’t been able to find answers to:

1. How many playable units should I attempt to include in my ROM hack?

I find it easier to think of ideas for units that appear earlier in the game but a cast of 20-30 sounds pretty challenging to integrate well, both from a story and gameplay perspective.

1. What are things to consider when introducing new units?

From what I understand, introducing units that are worse than their existing counterparts is done either for replay-ability or as replacements if the original unit gets severely stat screwed or dies. Should I aim to have new units be a mix of better than their existing counterparts (better bases?), similar (a mage with better speed vs better mag), or try to have them fulfil a different niche (can’t think of examples off the top of my head for this one)

1. If they require balance changes, how should I consider changing armour knights?

I haven’t completed any of the GBA games that I’ve started, but armour knights seem pretty underwhelming. This trend also seems to exist in Awakening, Fates, and 3H. Should I try to implement changes like giving them 5 mov? More control over the weapon triangle or access to bows like in Order of the Crimson Arm? Or would it be fine just keeping them the same but with better bases for their join time or access to a pre-promoted one early.