Castlevania Emblem Portraits

Hello everyone. I’m pretty new to romhacking, but thanks to FE Builder and Usenti I’ve been able to figure it out with some trial and error. I’ve had the idea to make a Castlevania-themed FE hack for some time, and this whole quarantine situation has been a good excuse to finally make some headway on it. These portraits are a couple of the ones I’ve edited for the hack.
RichterBelmont
This one’s Richter Belmont, the lord equivalent of the hack. I edited Wade from FE6 for it, adding on blinking frames and later changing the palette to better match with Sacred Stones’ palette. I think this is probably my best portrait so far, but as an amateur I’m sure there’s a lot to improve about it which I don’t realize.
MariaRenard
Here’s Maria Renard. I edited L’arachel for this, and I think it turned out decently. I’m not really sure how to make mouth animations or eyes look good, so the mouth is untouched. The rest, as with Richter, is a pretty heavy edit around the basic face structure. Her hair is really long and kind of all over the place, but I ended up realizing it surprisingly well.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my first attempts at making sprites. I wanted to show off a class I made for Richter which probably needs more improvements than these portraits do, but I wasn’t able to make a gif of any decent quality to showcase the animations. Any advice you guys have for me would be really helpful, and if you’re interested in the idea of Castlevania Emblem, I’d be happy to tell you more about it and let you help me with it. If anyone actually wants to use these, I only ask that you credit me.

13 Likes

OMG, I loved Rondo of Blood and Symphony of the Night, so I think these look GREAT!

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing. Looks great for a first try. Good luck with the hack!

1 Like