A total beginner to hacking, with a (very) small background in game creating

Hello! I’m Stigurna! I have recently rediscovered my love for Fire Emblem. As such, I’m craving another playthrough of FE6. However, I got inspired by Mangs’ videos on the Google Translated FE8 ROM and thought, hey, maybe I could do that!

I thought a pure text based hack would also be a good starting point, what do you guys think? I’m very new to hacking. How hard would this be? I I have a slight background in game making (Have created a few very VERY basic games with C# and C++)

I did hear that FE6 is harder to hack then the other two. Of course, on the off chance I manage to finish, the ROM would be uploaded for anyone to play. (If at all possible, I would love to translate supports as well)

Anyway, as a thank you for checking this out this introduction, have the first draft of Chapter 1: Google Translate Edition

https://pastebin.com/f6PFjwPc

This one got pretty f*ed up because I translated it all over the place

8 Likes

Hacking is actually kinda easy now when it comes to GBAFE due to FEBuilder. The reason FE6 is harder to hack is that a lot of functions are not part of FEBuilder in that game and the englishpatch also changed some functions which are then only accessable through directly editing the code.

A textbased hack would really be a good Idea for a beginner tho and you can ask the community for help at any time in a seperate threat whenever something goes wrong or you are not sure what to do.

1 Like

Welcome!

Knowing C# and C++ should be helpful for some of the more advanced hacking techniques. Text editing, assuming you just want to insert new text into an existing game, is a fairly straightforward process. There should be a guide on how to best do this, but I don’t have the link handy (perhaps someone else can follow up here)