A spriter's Usenti begginer's guide

If you are trying to make sprites as portraits and don’t know where to start or how to be effective, worry not because this tutorial might help you. I will give you my advice, as well as tips and tricks I wished to have known before making portraits. I’ll explain in further detail below, step by step.

This guide will be about the software known as usenti, it is very useful to make character portraits in the GBA style. It can be used instead of your regular editing software such as “MS Paint” or “Photoshop” but also as a complementary way. There is no wrong way to go about it.

I believe, if you want to make animations sprites, it is not the best software, I heard about asperite, but I haven’t used it myself, so I can’t really tell.

I’m no expert so if any of the information I provide is incorrect, please feel free to tell me about it.

Let’s take for the sake of this demonstration, my newest original character, named Maurice.

When opening usenti, you will be greeted with this menu.

It might seem disorientating at first but fear not, I’ll go over every basic functionality, please feel free to skip over some parts because some might be obvious but I wish to be thorough. Please focus on the red circles to follow the instructions.

Basics
New

This option allows you to start or restart with the basic menu shown above.

Opening a file

This option allows you to select the file you want to work with.

Then select the file you want and click on “Open”.

Saving

This option allows you to save your work, but beware, the format might not be the one you want for your file, so I would recommend clicking first on “File”, then “Save as”, you’ll be able to save your file as a .bmp file as shown below but you will likely want your file to be in a .png format.

To do so, please open the software “MS Paint” or any other alternative you are using, then open the .bmp file and save it as a .png file as shown below.