Why so many GBA-style portraits?

I’m new to the “scene” of Fire Emblem hacking, I’ve seen some projects here and there, and I have to ask… why do so many hacks use the FE GBA style of portraits? I understand that it’s easy to mix-and-match portraits from the three different games (Mareeta pointed some out to me as I played through The Last Promise). Surely, though, there are people with the art talent to draw in an original style…? Not that I have a problem with it but I’m curious.

1 Like

not an artist myself however I think it’s very easy to see why so few hacks have an “original” art style. Firstly you have to consider that 90% of romhacks don’t have a singular portrait artist and most don’t even have the portraits specifically made for the hack. If the portrait maker isn’t the hack creator themselves, that’s a lot of time to dedicate to one hack for free, or on the other hand it’s a lot of money the creator is spending to have one artist make an entire hacks worth of portraits.

On another side of the spectrum those who make portraits in a completely new style for the repo won’t have their work used much due to it clashing with 90% of the other portraits in the repo.

Also people general have a distaste for artistic clash when it comes to the aesthetics of a hack, so if a few portraits were in a radically different art style in a hack where that wouldn’t make sense those portraits would stick out like a sore thumb and some wouldn’t like how much they stick out.

Overall I can sum it up to saying that it’s just not practical.

Again I am not an artist myself so this is all from the point of view from someone who has a general understanding of how most hacks are developed and someone who uses F2U/E assets in their own hack.

10 Likes