Splicing Questions

So I’m new to the hacking community, started making a rom hack and I ran into some issues while splicing. Many were answered by the community, but some I have yet to get, as they’re kind of specific to my splice. I was told that I needed to AA, and that the right cheek needed outlining. Any tips on how to get started on that, and is there anything else I could fix?

2 Likes

It’s a simple splice, if it’s good enough for you that’s all that matters.

If you want technical advice, wait for someone more qualified than I to answer.

Welcome to FEU! We’re all a welcoming group who’s more than happy to teach peeps over everything we can.

I’m not exactly the greatest portrait maker, and I’d recommend hopping onto our Discord server to talk with someone like BuskHusker, ObsidianWasp or anyone else in the Spritans room for better advice than me, I can try helping out here.

When taking images of portraits, be sure to export a 1 for 1 image of it instead of screenshotting your screen. This allows us to take a better look at it or to edit it ourselves to create suggestions.

On the left side of his face (for us), you’ll need to have shading underneath the hair and to have the bottom of his chin have the dark grey outline.

Beruka-2.png (2)
Take my Beruka (at 3x view for readability); the entire left side of the face (for us) has the dark outline surrounding it, which makes it distinct from the hair. Especially if we’re implying that the hair would be behind the head, this is important to do as one of the first steps.

Sigune (2)-1.png
Here I added FE8 outline to Sigrun’s head, and you can see the line on the sprite where the entire head on that half is outlined.

Another thing you might want to do is to take a look at this image, which has a bunch of FE8 skin colors. Pick a set of colors you think suits the character and go with it. FE8 colors tend to be more accepted thanks to a weird outline color and imo show off the skin shading nicer.