Parsefile.exe is broken?

Hello! I’m pretty new to FE hacking, so I’ve been following along a MAKE HACK.cmd tutorial from circleseverywhere, and I’m trying to do some text insertion with EA. However, it requires the usage of Parsefile.exe, which comes with EA, but for some reason it’s not working for me. When I try running it at all, my computer tells me that “this app can’t run on your PC”. Any ideas? Is there an updated version of Parsefile I’m not aware of?

Is your computer 32-bit? In which case you might need the version @StanH has compiled.

(you can ignore this part it’s just me musing)
Or maybe it’s a VS C++ Redistributable error O.o but I don’t think GHC needs that so… shrug

I just checked my operating system, it is indeed 32-bit. If it’s not too much, could you provide the link to this other compiled version? I’m not entirely sure where it is. And thanks so much, I was stuck on this for a while!

I found the zip file containing ParseFIle for 32-bit; now I’m running into a different snag. I’m including the Install Text Data.event in my ROM Buildfile, but it keeps giving me the same error: Tool ParseFile not found. I’m not sure what the cause of this is, any thoughts? Thanks!

Did you put ParseFile in the Tools folder of EA?

Thank you so much for the help! What I did is I have a separate folder for text editing called Text, and I moved the Tools folder of EA to this Text folder. Granted, I moved Tools to the Text Folder and EA tells me nothing’s wrong, but now when I’m trying to boot up my test ROM, it’s frozen on a white screen and I’m a bit lost again. I think I might need to do something with the Anti-Huffman patch, but again, I’m not sure.

Thanks for all the help, by the way. I knew getting started on FE hacking was hard, but this is really really difficult, at least for me.

Two things

1. Include the FEDitorAutopatches 9rewritten for EA). Namely, you need the Anti-Huffman patch.