Is it possible to set global flags with FEBuilderGBA?

I’m working on an FE7 romhack. I want to create a split (calling one of two events) based on whether a certain gaiden chapter that occurred several chapters previously was completed. Is this possible? And if so, how do I do it? I tried setting flags, but they seem to be reset at either the start or end of each chapter.

The bottomportion of the flaglist are global flags that are called…global flags. They can be set during events with the command “Flag on” like any other flag. I mean, I don’t exactly understand the issue because it usually always works without issue.

1 Like

Well, y’see, there’s a really good reason why I didn’t use any of those.
,I’m new to romhacking and didn’t know they exist.

(Silliness aside, thanks for pointing those out to me!)

1 Like

@pengie9290

By the way, it is highly recommended that you hack fe8 instead of fe7 if you are creating a custom game. It is pretty easy to pull most assets from fe7 (eg. maps, char stats, portraits), but incredibly difficult to port custom asm to fe7 if you have no asm experience. In short, this means that fe8 has lots of patches while fe7 has very few. The only time you should hack fe7 is if you want to reskin it. Eg. Keep all chapters the same, but alter growths or characters etc.

1 Like

I’m already ten chapters in, so I don’t really feel like transferring over to Sacred Stones now. I’m definitely going to use it for future projects, though.

The main reason I went with FE7 was because I wanted to have a Lyn Mode type thing.

1 Like

Don’t listen to the haters, FE7 all the way!

There are reasons one would want to work in Fe7, but FE 8 is far more popular with more custom ASM (and frankly more you can do with the default game engine)

It comes down the to hack creator’s discretion.

What’s Lyn Mode exactly? Regardless, couldn’t such a thing be implemented in FE8?