Help with FEBuilder

Hello everyone,
I’ve been working with FEBuilder to just play and test various things on the game that introduced me to the series, FE8!
The current issue I’m encountering is at the start of chapter 5 Lute and Artur’s magic just drops to 0 and makes it so they do virtually no damage to all enemies.
The things that I’ve done so far is I used the skillsystems patch, increased max level to 50, raised max stats for all stats and characters to 60 (with exception of hp max 120), and added promotions to all final classes to loop back to base classes ex. paladin to knight or cavalier.
I also removed the exmodularsave patch from my rom because it was not retaining saves on my ez reader.
I’m pretty new to using FEBuilder and romhacks in general so please be patient with me, but I appreciate any help with understanding what I need to look at.

My first guess is that Artur and Lute’s magic stats aren’t being saved because you removed exmodularsave. It’s responsible for making sure certain vital things for the skill system is kept in save data. Raising caps won’t work without exmodularsave installed either, by the way. For example, the maximum level saved in vanilla is 31 and the max HP saved is 67.

I don’t really know enough about custom game carts to help with your ezreader problem, but if you’re using the skill system, you absolutely need exmodularsave for it to work properly.

1 Like

That makes sense, but why would that only affect lute and artur? Because they arrive in chapter 4?
I reapplied the exmodular save patch, but now my I’m back to not keeping saves…

Don’t use the very old double stat caps patch. Skill sys / ex modular save default already does this. There’s a separate patch for how long the stat bars should be.

You can try this out on vanilla+skillsys patch and see for yourself. If you aren’t using the double stat caps patch, then you’ve done something else funky to break save files.