Fire Emblem: The Knight of Lodis

Exactly what it says on the tin. Taking the characters and story of Tactics Ogre: The Knight of Lodis, and putting it in a Fire Emblem. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a long time, with a few hurdles being large enough to shy me away from the idea, one of the biggest being the world map.

Well, I figured that out today. So for now, this is in early concept stage. Large parts of this will not be difficult, the story and it’s main characters are already there, I’ve got all of the item icons, and our beloved graphics repo has an absolutely insane amount of content to use. The hard parts will be all of the things I’m not good at or don’t know how to do; making maps, eventing, and music. Eventing just takes time and patience to learn but it’s entirely doable, and at least I can reference the original games maps to make new ones. I’m at a loss for music, but again, there’s a big ol’ repo at my disposal. Plus, I can fuse my two favorite GBA games into one, so how can I not at least try?

I’m planning on reworking most of the original script for the game, as it could use some polishing up. On top of that, some characters place in the story may be slightly different, but ultimately I’m not planning on deviating too much, but I do have some thoughts about changing or even removing some characters for story flow. And I have no idea what to do with the mermaids.

I make no great guarantee this will go anywhere. It’s something I plan to work on in my free time. But here’s some proof of concept.

Title Screen Save Screen
World Map Battle

32 Likes

Looks interesting! I’ve never played TO, but I’ve heard it’s somewhat like FFT. Maybe even better than FFT.

1 Like

On the titlescreen, the subtitle is a little hard to read given that it’s using the same colours as the busy background.