[FE 8] [Complete] Battlefield- Latro the Grim

This is the first ROM hack I’ve ever made, and I’m relatively new to Fire Emblem (only been playing for a few months). However, I tried my best to make a good FE hack with interesting map design and characters. It’s about 3-5 hours long with 5-6 chapters, so, if you decide to play it, I hope you enjoy it! I’ve been working on it for the past two months, and I tried to learn as much as I could to make the hack as good as possible. However, I’m sure there’s still improvements to be made to it. If you have any suggestions or fixes, then please leave them on this thread.

I still can’t post links for whatever reason, but you can find the hack by searching for “Battlefield- Latro the Grim” on Romhacking net (though if someone could post the link in the replies, that would be great)

4 Likes

https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/7602/

Here’s the link to it, for those who are curious (like me). I’m gonna give it a go tonight! If I manage to finish it before I go to bed, I’ll be sure to edit this post and give my thoughts.

EDIT (Mar. 7, 2023)
Alright, so I played a bit last night. Unfortunately, I only got to chapter 2 and probably won’t pick it up again as it is. Don’t get me wrong, I feel like you have some good ideas here! It’s just that they need a LOT more refining. I recommend diving into more Fire Emblem just so you have a better feel for what players might expect, especially with unit stats and map design. I’ll put my feedback under spoilers since I have a lot of thoughts.

Aesthetics and Writing

The unit portraits are pretty solid! I like everyone’s designs. I really like the background for the status screen as well. The battle animation color palettes could use some work, though. Colors that are similar in hue tend to blend together, making the base color and shades/highlights not really stand out from each other.