Class Balancing Concepts I want to share

I’m very new to the fire emblem community since the only games I played are from the GBA so please take anything I share here with a shaker full of salt.

So there was this RomHack that I wanted to make with Fe8 being the base ROM because I wanted to make use of the branching promotions however I ran into a roadblock.

Not all classes are good.

So I thought of these balancing ideas off the top of my head. If you want to give your own (possibly better) suggestions then feel free to do so.

Ideas:

• Archers and Snipers can use swords and the game treats Bows like Staves (Equipped on player phase but gets swapped out for other weapons during enemy phase). This makes it historically accurate to actual archers during medieval warfare (used swords in desperate situations), but it also doesn’t clash with the Player Phase-focused nature of the class (Indirectly buffs Warriors). I also made bows (except for the short bow) have a 2-3 range (with the longbow getting a 2-4 range).

• New Promotion Option for Brigands (which are playable in this hack I plan) the Brawler. The Brawler has access to all 3 weapons in the triangle and has a 1.25x bonus avoid on all terrain that offers avoid (Pillars, Forests, etc.) but cannot traverse water as a result (Brigands have the option to promote into Berserkers as well). I thought of this since one person suggest on my Playable Brigand thread that bonus avoid sounds like a good way to make the Brigand class more unique than the other two axe based classes.

• Falcoknights get the same Con promotion bonus as the Wyvern Knight. In exchange, the Peg Knight gets a new promotion option to replace Wyvern Knight.
    The SkyWatcher (name pending), a class that gains a bow rank instead of the sword rank that Falcoknights get. SkyWatchers get the Con bonus that Falcoknights originally got.