Casual mode patch (fe8) is not working

So I’ve been using FEBuilderGBA for a few months now and run into plenty of hiccups with my project but have been able to fix most of them. This time, I’m kind of at a loss for what to do, I could probably figure it out but at this point I’ll take all the help I can get.

I used a patch to install the casual mode select screen, and when I played casual mode it seemed to work fine. Fallen units still returned in the next chapter, as expected, but then I discovered that it would erase all of their support points. I ended up finding a patch that said it would fix this bug, but…it didn’t work. :frowning:

So at this point I wasn’t really sure what to do, because it was saying the patch was applied but was not doing what it said it would do. I went and removed a patch called CasualMode (ver Flag B0) or something like that because I thought “huh, I don’t remember writing this, maybe this is confusing it?”

Funny thing is, after I unwrote it, it displayed one of those messages saying I couldn’t write it because it clashed with the casual mode select screen patch. (even though I’m pretty sure it got automatically written when I wrote that one…) Naturally I took this to mean that those two patches wouldn’t work with each other and figured that might somehow be why the support thing wasn’t working.

Then, I saw that after that, it also automatically unwrote the support patch (I did check in another backup and the support patch was supposedly still written before I unwrote the Flag B0 one, so the events were apparently connected). So I just wrote it again, tested it by having some units support and let one of them get killed, and it seemed to work. The support was still there!