Bane working without the skill and even when disabled

I’m completely new here so sorry if I miss an guidelines or etiquette. I created this account specifically for this post.

I down loaded the Skill System and have been play around with it with no prior experience and its been engaging if a bit tedious.

While trying my hand at making my own skill, I noticed that one of my units used bane even though he doesn’t have that skill. Further testing revealed that all of my units were using bane. I checked to make sure bane’s skill ID wasn’t 00 and it was indeed 20.

I decided to go into skill_definitions and disable it by setting its ID to 255. Strangely, this disabled the animation and icon cut-in, but my units would still trigger its effect of leaving enemies with 1 HP.

Since I’m a complete novice I figured I might have caused this so I completely redownloaded the skill system in a different location and ran a clean ROM through it. Turns out, whatever this behavior is it’s in the completely unedited base skill system.

Has anyone else encountered this? Am I doing something wrong? Please ask me for any more information if needed.

Also related but bane fails to save the target on a crit and I’m not sure if that’s intended.

I think there was a while where Bane was just broken and just activated whenever it wanted, if you’re using the one on github it should be fixed by now I think.

I’m using the most recent version from github that was updated 4 days again.

I noticed a comment about recently redoing some calcloops. Is it possible it might have reintroduced that bug?

Oh, interesting, I didn’t notice it may’ve broken again since I’m still using from like last month. Huh.
I’d say to report the issue directly but I’m not entirely sure how to do that. At best I could probably just try to toss a slightly older version and see if that works?

Yeah that would be great for testing since the recent version is so new, it could tell alot