Text Palette Changing [FE6] [FE7] [FE8]

Have you ever wanted to be able to use a different color for your text aside from dark grey and dark red? Maybe that off-white background is driving you bonkers? Are the limitations of [ToggleColorInvert] getting you down? Well, here’s an edit that allows you to change those things. WARNING: I am new to assembly; therefore, this may be messy and error-prone. I’m going into excruciating detail to explain what I did, just in case it breaks horribly and I have no idea how to fix it. Or if one of the wizards thinks there’s a more efficient way of doing things.

Overview

First, the text palette and text box background palette are loaded into palette RAM (500 series).
Next, the text in question is copied into WRAM (200 series).
Finally, the functions that actually put text on the screen are called. If you have [ToggleColorInvert], that loads a different text and background palette in the same space in palette RAM as the normal palettes. [ToggleRed] actually uses the same text palette, albeit a different part of it. NOTE: In case you didn’t know, you CAN combine both toggles, but they won’t look great (unless you change the inverted palette). The game reads through each byte in WRAM, goes to a jump table (basically a table of pointers), and executes code depending on the byte it read. Bytes 08-0F (which is the Open Speech Bubble class) go through this same process in a different jump table to determine how long the text box has to be.

This modification basically does the same thing as the [ToggleColorInvert] command: it overwrites the current palette, using the unused FEditor code 0x1E. The syntax is [0x1E][0xXX][0xYY], where XX is the background palette byte and YY is the text palette byte. Here’s a look at the assembly code for FE7/8:

ldr     r0,BackgroundTable
ldrb    r3,[r4,#0x1]     @load background palette byte
sub     r3,r3,#0x26
lsl     r3,r3,#0x5
add     r0,r0,r3         @new background palette location now in r0